A Dog, a Tree, and a Kalanchoe

I’ve recently been reading and looking through the sketchbooks of various traveling artists, and it has inspired me to paint my own surroundings. I simply can’t wait until the next time I travel so that I can whip out my Moleskine and watercolours and just sit and study people, buildings, and whatnot. But I can definitely capture the things that I see in the here and now! Here are three things:

Photo 2015-08-14, 11 47 47 AM

I did a continuous contour line on the plant and it was so much fun! I hope my kalanchoe will make it through a year – it’s going to be in my classroom!

I found a quiet and shady spot under a pine tree and drew the poplar across from me. It was a lovely time until I realized my picnic blanket was attracting ants and spiders.

I found a quiet and shady spot under a pine tree and drew the poplar across from me. It was a lovely time until I realized my picnic blanket was attracting ants and spiders.

It took me a while to finish the drawing because he kept sitting down, looking like he was settling in for a nap, and then just as I put my pen down, he would bound for the kitchen for no reason. He tired himself out though as you can see.

It took me a while to finish the drawing because he kept sitting down, looking like he was settling in for a nap, and then just as I put my pen down, he would bound for the kitchen for no reason. He tired himself out though as you can see.

Leave a Reply

