Painting Greece

After two weeks in sunny Greece with friends, I am finally home! While I was there, I was able to sketch and paint some scenes when I had a breather from the sightseeing. In the short amount of time that we were there, we visited Athens, Mykonos, Santorini, Crete, Ephesus, Rhodes, Patmos, Corinth, Olympia, and Argostoli. The sights were stunning, but it was definitely the people we had met along the way that really made a positive memory for me in this beautiful country. Without further ado, here are some pictures I drew and painted whenever I could squeeze in a spare moment!

The view from our cozy Athens apartment.

The view from our cozy Athens apartment.

Marble statues of Zeus and Aphrodite from the National Archaeological Museum. I can spend a whole day at that museum.

Marble statues of Zeus and Aphrodite from the National Archaeological Museum. I can spend a whole day at that museum.

While I was painting this picture, a little girl selling flowers sat and watched.

While I was painting this picture, a little girl selling flowers sat and watched.

This was done after dinner at a café in the Plaka district. Nothing better than baklava and a bit of art time I think!

This was done after dinner at a café in the Plaka district. Nothing better than baklava and a bit of art time I think!

This is Mykonos. Touristy shops aside, the beach and sunsets are nothing short of spectacular.

This is Mykonos. Touristy shops aside, the beach and sunsets are nothing short of spectacular.

We spent a bit of time in Kusadasi in Turkey before heading over to Patmos. My friends and I skipped the excursion as we were quite spent and opted for a quiet walk and ice cream instead.

We spent a bit of time in Kusadasi in Turkey before heading over to Patmos. My friends and I skipped the excursion as we were quite spent and opted for a quiet walk and ice cream instead.

This is beautiful Santorini. With the sun setting behind us, the cliffs change brilliant colours.

This is beautiful Santorini. With the sun setting behind us, the cliffs change brilliant colours.

This is Makris Giolos beach in Lassi. We spent a blissful seven hours here one hot Sunday.

This is Makris Giolos beach in Lassi. We spent a blissful seven hours here one hot Sunday.

We stayed at a very quaint and charming villa called Vivian Villa in Argostoli. The elderly couple who own it is quite possibly one of the sweetest couples I know.

We stayed at a very quaint and charming villa called Vivian Villa in Argostoli. The elderly couple who own it is quite possibly one of the sweetest couples I know.

We walked up the Acropolis in Athens to gaze at the Parthenon. Sadly it was scaffolded, but the size and preservation of it still left us gaping.

We walked up the Acropolis in Athens to gaze at the Parthenon. Sadly it was scaffolded, but the size and preservation of it still left us gaping.

4 thoughts on “Painting Greece

Leave a Reply

