Banana Berry Bran Muffins

With the weather getting colder and the days getting darker, I decided to perk up my mornings by waking up to an easy and delicious (and healthy) breakfast! I searched for a healthy muffin recipe on YouTube after I made the disappointing discovery that as easy as instant muffin mixes are, they are actually disgusting. These made from scratch muffins are non-greasy and they don’t give you a sugar headache! I tweaked the recipe a little bit, so this is what I did:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
Wet Ingredients:
2 eggs
2/3 cups brown sugar
1/2 tsp of vanilla extract

1/2 cups canola oil 
3/4 cups almond milk
1 cup mashed banana (about 3 bananas) 

Dry Ingredients:
1 1/2 cup bran 
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp baking powder 
1/2 cup ground flax seed
1  cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup large flake oats
Mix wet ingredients well, mix dry ingredients well, then combine them a little at a time. Gently mix in frozen berries. I spooned the mixture about 2/3 in the muffin tray after I had sprayed it with coconut oil so it wouldn’t stick. 
Bake for 15-20 minutes – and voilà! I ended up with 18 delightful muffins! 

What I love about this recipe is that it is so versatile. You can substitute the canola oil with unsweetened apple sauce, you can add chocolate chips with the berries or just chocolate chips if you wanted to!

 

2 thoughts on “Banana Berry Bran Muffins

Leave a Reply

