Pura Vida en Costa Rica

My family and I spent the last legs of our summer in hot and humid Costa Rica! Apparently, it is their winter season right now – I am afraid to know what their summers are like. But stifling heat and sunburns aside, I was awestruck with the beauty of this country (at least from what I saw in the Guanacaste region).

I quickly developed a habit of waking up early after a hearty breakfast and heading down to the beach to read. No one in sight – just the breeze from the ocean and the sound of the waves. I think actually, that that may have become my new happy place.

One of my favourite experiences though would have to be our excursion day. We went horseback riding on the hilly landscape while gaping at the Tolkien-like blend of mist and verdure. Then we zip-lined over vast rain forests (much too quickly!) and ended our day soaking in a volcanic mud bath.

I will leave you now with some photos I took when I was not busy dozing off in the sun or drinking piña coladas…

Photo 2014-08-10, 1 39 48 PM

White-throated Capuchin monkeys. They may look cute, but they stole my french fries.

Photo 2014-08-11, 10 24 51 AM

I painted the view of the beach from our balcony the morning after we first arrived.

Photo 2014-08-11, 10 25 30 AM

We stayed at the Allegro Papagayo Resort in Guanacaste. Wonderful staff.

Photo 2014-08-13, 1 20 49 PM

We took a boat out one morning to visit a white sand beach only 15 minutes away. Little did we know this place was filled with hungry and curious monkeys and coatis.

Photo 2014-08-13, 8 23 18 AM

This was our favourite beach! It doesn’t look like much, but the black sand is incredibly soft (like a memory foam mattress).

Photo 2014-08-14, 1 39 32 PM

We took another day swimming underneath this beautiful waterfall. My sisters and I climbed the slippery and jagged rocks behind the waterfall to the other side. We later agreed that it was a stupid albeit fun decision.

Photo 2014-08-14, 5 28 21 PM

I did some poolside painting one evening of the six palm trees in the resort swimming pool.

2 thoughts on “Pura Vida en Costa Rica

Leave a Reply

