Leaving La Ville de Québec

Despite the touristy shops in Old Québec, I still feel giddy when I walk through these streets.

Despite the touristy shops in Old Québec, I still feel giddy when I walk through these streets.

This is a picturesque park very close to where I live that stretches along the St. Charles River.

This is a picturesque park very close to where I live that stretches along the St. Charles River.

I was SO happy to discover that this was the very place Jacques Cartier had set up the cross - thereby claiming Stadacona (present day Québec)! The teacher part of me is geeking out.

I was SO happy to discover that this was the very place Jacques Cartier had set up the cross – thereby claiming Stadacona (present day Québec)! The teacher part of me is geeking out.

As it is Québec City's Opera Festival these past two weeks, I treated myself to a very entertaining evening of music at the Chapelle du Musée d'Amérique Francophone.

As it is Québec City’s Opera Festival these past two weeks, I treated myself to a very entertaining evening of music at the Chapelle du Musée d’Amérique Francophone.

Our teacher took us on a field trip on Thursday to Québec's Parliament!

Our teacher took us on a field trip on Thursday to Québec’s Parliament!

Beautiful flowers at the Farmer's Market today by the Old Port.

Beautiful flowers at the Farmer’s Market today by the Old Port.

Leaving a place that has left an impression on me is never easy.

I can’t believe how quickly the time has gone and how quickly people come and go.

I wrote thank you cards to my teachers and said my farewells after school today. As it has become a Friday tradition, my friends and I went to the Bureau de Poste for lunch together before we finally went our separate ways.

I spent my last day in Québec City weaving through the open air Farmer and Artisan Market by the Old Port before hopping onto the 400 bus for a scenic and peaceful ride along the Saint Lawrence River. I think the river must be one of my favourite things in this province. It is so vast and so clear and it stretches on forever. I took this time to take in and replay in my mind all the highlights of the last 4 weeks. A journey for me never seems complete until I can give myself this kind of closure.

Tonight, after our last supper together, Diane and I went to the Plains of Abraham to watch a blues concert. I found this very appropriate as she had taken me to the summer festival concerts the first night I arrived.

I am so glad I decided to come here this summer. Every part of it has been so special, whether it be the people, language, history, or culture. Every part of it has been worth it.

 

Leave a Reply

