Speak Up and Defend

I’ve been doing some thinking for the last couple of days of how I’d like to change. How I’d like to become stronger in the areas where I am weak.

I was listening to a sermon from my church in Red Deer online and the pastor shared with us two striking verses:

Speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves, for the rights of all who are destitute. Speak up and judge fairly; defend the rights of the poor and needy. (Proverbs 31:8-9)

It was a reminder of how easy it is for me to see only the tragedies and problems overseas when there are people lost, hurting, and in need right in my very own community. It’s bizarre isn’t it, how easy it is for me to walk past a homeless person on the street but shake my head when I read about something in the news. There are people around me everyday that I can choose to help. This is an area in my life that I want to focus on this year.

I was also struck by some words that were shared by our pastor from Mother Theresa. She is an example of someone who courageously spoke up against abortion – a topic that I admit, am timid to discuss with others. You can read her speech here – whether you agree with abortion or not, I think it’s worth a read.

So I ask God to give me the courage to stand up for the voiceless and conviction to defend against injustice – especially when I am afraid. I ask that He give me words of love and kindness, words that bless and that do not judge. I pray He will give me a humble heart – one that is quick to listen and to love.

It also occurred to me that I cannot do anything without Him. I can possess all the desire in the world to help others, but I can do nothing without the strength that He provides.

Returning to His side, pursuing His heart, and being a servant – these are not easy things. But they are possible things.

I am left feeling grateful. I am grateful to serve a God who ardently seeks us and calls us back to His arms.

This is what I have been reflecting on today.

I hope you also, dear reader, may be encouraged to speak up, defend, and to love.

 

Leave a Reply

