Summer Freedom

 

One of many wildroses.

One of many wildroses.

I am so excited to have finished my second year of teaching! And what a blessed year it has been.

I know I haven’t been making a lot of blog posts this year about school, but I have been savouring every special moment that has passed since I began last August.

My kids have finished their exams and have left for the summer. We had a class party to celebrate the end of the year and many hugs were exchanged. And now for the past week and a half, I’ve been busily marking, finishing report cards, recycling/shredding/filing a whole school year’s worth of papers, planning for the next year, going to meetings, and reorganizing my classroom. I don’t remember the last time I was this productive. It’s amazing how much of the other schoolwork I can get done when I don’t have to plan or teach lessons. Without even exaggerating, I’ve actually found these last two weeks quite blissful. I think the beautiful weather also has a lot to do with it.

I have finally gotten around to exploring the parks and trails near my house and let me tell you, it’s probably one of my favourite things to do now. I can think of little else more relaxing than a golden summer evening in a lush and fragrant park with a book in hand. I finished The Memory Palace by Mira Bartók the other day on the cool, soft grass – wildroses all around me.

Found this beautiful spot in the heart of the city.

Found this beautiful spot in the heart of the city.

I wanted to go out again tonight, but as it was raining, I opted to put one my student’s gifts to use – a free movie ticket! I just saw Belle (starring Gugu Mbatha Raw) and walked out beaming. Lovely film – it was the perfect way to spend a gloomy and drizzly night.

This year has been such a blessing from start to finish. I am looking forward to an adventurous summer in Québec, but I also cannot wait to get back into the swing of things come September!

Praise Him from whom all blessings flow

Praise Him all people here below

Praise Him above ye heavenly hosts

Praise Father, Son, and Holy Ghost

 

Leave a Reply

