My 2013

This past year was full of ups and downs. There were some days where I felt completely grateful and blessed, and others where I cried despairingly and felt broken. Yet I look back at each of these moments and can honestly tell myself that even if I could go back, I wouldn’t change a thing – because each and every one changed me for the better in some way whether big or small.

This is what happened to me in 2013:

1. I participated in my first Bonspiel – Our team came in dead last, but we still had a lot of fun! I loved that I got to know the small community better and learn from expert curlers.

My curling team

My curling team

2. I lost a very dear friend – I got the news in September that Gladys had passed away. I feel privileged to have known and lived with this beautiful woman in the last year of her 91 years on earth.

Photo 2013-02-02 5 31 51 PM

Gladys and our pizza nights

3. I golfed for the first time – My wonderful coworkers took me golfing in the last days of June and our team won!

Screen shot 2013-12-31 at 11.10.56 PM

Perfect weather for golf (despite the mosquitos)

4. I started a new hobby – I discovered that I really enjoy watercolour and started dabbling with it – eventually taking my painting to cafés, parks, and new and foreign cities.

Photo 2013-07-31 10 02 40 AM

Painted this on the last leg of our Italian journey

5. I read these 8 booksThe Hare with the Amber Eyes by Edmund de Waal, Wild by Cheryl Strayed, A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway, I Shall Not Hate by Izzeldin Abuelaish, The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, My Life in France by Julia Child, Little Princes by Conor Grennan, and The Hobbit by J.R. Tolkein.

Screen shot 2013-12-31 at 11.13.54 PM

One of my favourite memoirs that I’ve read

6. I left High Prairie – It was a bittersweet departure. I shed tears saying goodbye to many wonderful people, yet I was at peace knowing that it was time for me to move on.

Screen shot 2013-12-31 at 11.15.28 PM

My empty classroom on the official last day of school

7. I found a new job unexpectedly – I went into the interview grudgingly believing that this would not be a match, but left the interview with excitement and joy. God works in very funny ways.

Photo 2013-08-23 4 01 49 PM

My new classroom before I met my students

8. I was asked to be a bridesmaid – In August, one of my best friends asked me to be her bridesmaid to which I emphatically answered yes! I love her so much and will always be grateful to have known her for over half my life.

Screen shot 2013-12-31 at 11.16.37 PM

Childhood best friends

9. I went to Italy – My family and I traveled for 3 weeks all over this beautiful country and I believe we left knowing each member a little better than before. Traveling definitely brings out the best and worst in everyone.

2013-07-09 06.45.45

A sizzling day in Rome

10. I am ringing in 2014 with turnip cakes and Netflix with family – A quiet evening at home curled up on the couch with people I care about the most is exactly how I want to remember the last hours of 2013.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

