A Letter to my Class

After talking with a couple teachers today, I felt really disheartened with the apathetic attitude and defiance of many students at school. I was even more saddened that this behaviour is beginning to spread to affect students that earlier in the year were very excited about learning. For some of my students, their attendance is faltering and their grades are below passing. For others, they are beginning to hang out with the wrong crowd and their new found attitude reflects this.

I decided to write out my thoughts in a letter addressed to my students (particularly junior high). I don’t know if I’m going to show them this letter or reiterate it in speech, but these are my words for those that I am most concerned for.

Dear Students,

You really need to ask yourselves: “Where do I want my life to go? Who do I want to be? Who or what will help me get there? Who or what will prevent me from reaching my goal?” 

Then, you need to make this decision: “Will I allow myself to fall behind? Or will I strive and fight for what I want to achieve?”

Ask yourself – “What is important to me? Are my dreams so worthless that they deserve to be ignored and forgotten? Am I going to allow myself be led astray?”

What do you want your life to be like? You have one life. You are capable of doing big and beautiful things. How are you going to make the most of it?

Once you’ve decided what you want, find out how to get there. What are the steps you need to take to get yourself to where you want to be? It won’t be easy, but I promise you it will be worth it.

How badly do you want it? How determined are you to fight for it and to guard it? 

Your Teacher

Leave a Reply

