Feeling Grateful and Humbled

I am in the city for the next 3 days for a much anticipated teacher’s convention! I was sitting in a coffee shop tonight waiting for a friend, and while I was waiting I began reflecting. Eventually this reflecting led to prayer and before I knew it, I’d written out a prayer of thanks. I’d like to share with you what I’ve been grateful for. It starts like this…

Dear God,
Thank you so much for today. Thank you that I could carpool to the city. Thank you that the roads were safe. Thank you that I got a decent amount of planning done. Lord, thank you for placing me in this school district. Thank you for the support around me and the staff at this school. Thank you for your providence, your protection, the endurance and perseverance that you’ve given me – it’s supernatural. I would never have gone this far without your help. Thank you for strengthening me in my moments of weakness. Thank you for picking me up when I fail and feel absolutely useless. Thank you for reminding me that I am not useless. Thank you for continuing to teach me things even though I have a very limited attention span. Thank you for not giving up on me, especially when I feel like giving up on myself. Thank you for your miracles. Truly it is only because of you that I have come this far and have accomplished what I have. It is because of you. God you are so good to me. Why haven’t you grown sick of me yet? Me, my ugly judgemental, hypocritical, proud, complacent self. I can’t understand. I only know, and cling to knowing that your love is constant. And that you remain
.

Leave a Reply

