Grad Studies Ahead?

Every once in a while – though not very often – I get a vision of what I want to do and where I want to be in the near future. It’s always an exciting moment because it means change, and it gives me something new to work towards. The previous times that this has happened included my decision of which university to attend, studying abroad in France for 4 months, working a whole summer in Quebec, and finally moving up to Northern Alberta to teach for a year.

Sometimes, these plans don’t always work out, and the times that they have fallen through, God has always been faithful in offering me something far better. You can read about my experience about that here.

A couple of days ago, I had one of these exciting visions. It was actually quite mundane how it came about. It was after school on Friday and I had just finished re-organizing the entire classroom and for some reason I decided to do some research on where to do grad studies. Yes, my Friday nights are quite thrilling.

I’ve always had my mind open to grad school – I just couldn’t decide on what to study. But after a bit of looking around, I think I’ve found what I want! I’ve set my sights on pursuing a Masters in Education at Campus Saint-Jean, which is a faculty of the University of Alberta. What gets me excited is that it is a francophone faculty (and the only one west of Manitoba), which means I’ll be able to immerse myself in French without having to leave the province!

The tentative plan now is to work another year in the classroom, apply for my permanent teaching certification, study for a couple of years at Campus Saint-Jean while improving my French, and finally graduate with an MEd. My hope after graduation is to find a job teaching high school FSL (or junior high as second preference).

I hope this can work out, but even if it does not, I know I will still be okay.

Leave a Reply

