Exciting News!

My sister texted this verse to me months ago. I don’t know if she knew I needed this but I did.

I have an exciting announcement! In a little over a month, I will be moving eight hours north to a small town of 3000 where I will be teaching French as a Second Language to grades 4-12 in the up-coming school year! I have waited a year for a teaching position with a school board and am thrilled that it is finally happening!

Everything happened so fast that it still seems surreal. I was feeling pretty restless at my current job a month ago and I wanted to do something different by September. So I applied to several jobs in the past couple of weeks, had two interviews last week and a job offer just yesterday! God has certainly been faithful. My own plans to go to Québec ended up with me being wait-listed and I didn’t really want to continue another year working at the school that I am currently in – not because it is awful, I truly love it and will genuinely miss the people there – I’ve just had a restlessness to do something different. I just didn’t know what.

So I did what I always do when life seems to be out of my hands. I prayed to God for direction and I asked him to guide me and to give me peace and confirmation once the right opportunity presented itself. While I was waiting for His guidance, I put my trust in Him and asked Him to help me give thanks whatever may happen. It is not easy to do. Sometimes, it felt like I was driving through a heavy fog and the only direction I had was what the GPS told me. I had no choice but to trust God – and I’m thankful that I did.

Two verses helped me through during this waiting period. They are:

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “Plans to prosper and not to harm you. Plans to give you a hope and a future.”

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight.

In the end, I told Him that if He wanted me to stay at this school – even if it is not what I want – I will stay and give thanks to Him. And if He wanted me to go elsewhere – no matter where that may be – I will go and give thanks to Him.

I see now that He has blessed me with something far greater than I had ever hoped for. I feel so humbled and so grateful.

There is no doubt in my mind that He had meant for everything that happened this year to happen. I don’t know what the coming school year will bring, I don’t even know what to expect – but after all He’s done for me, I am not worried, because I know I won’t be alone.

 

A

Leave a Reply

