Summer Reading

Since I have very little time to spare during the day, I have been catching up on my reading on my morning commute to work. Normally, I end up feeling car sick when I read in a moving vehicle, and so I’ve been hesitant to read on the train. However, I finally gave it a try the last two weeks and I am now one of those people that pull a book out of their purse as soon as I take a seat. I have recently finished The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls and let me say this book is exactly the reason why I love to read memoirs. Like Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt, The Glass Castle somehow takes heavy and somber subjects and turns it into a fascinating – and often funny – read. I was so engrossed with this book that as soon as I got home from work yesterday, I grabbed a beach towel, a water bottle, and walked to a nearby park to lie on the grass and read ’til the last page. It was a very splendid late afternoon.

I made a reading list nearly two years ago and so far this is what I have and what has yet to be accomplished:

  1. The Handmaid’s Tale *
  2. Infidel*
  3. Angela’s Ashes
  4. Three Cups of Tea
  5. The Kite Runner 
  6. Eat Pray Love
  7. Of Mice and Men
  8. What the Dog Saw (yeah only halfway through)
  9. Breakfast at Tiffany’s
  10. The Glass Castle *
  11. Marcus of Umbria
  12. 1984
  13. The Chrysallids
  14. The Secret Garden
  15. The Help
  16. Lord of the Flies
  17. The Tipping Point
  18. Wind in the Willows
  19. Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea (in French)
  20. Jane Eyre

(* = these are my favourites)

Some of these I want to read just for the sake that they are classics (and they’re called ‘classics’ for a reason, right?). And others have been recommended to me by my sister who is an avid reader. As you can see, I am an extremely slow reader, but hopefully reading on the train will help me make my way through this list a little quicker.

What are you reading this summer?

A

3 thoughts on “Summer Reading

  1. After watching Sherlock Holmes BBC, I just had to buy the books! It’s definitely a good read and I just bought the Glass Castle as well!

Leave a Reply

