Lemon Meringue Pie

Summer has officially arrived which means it’s time to start my summer baking! Last year, my friend and I baked chocolate tortes, cheesecake, fruit tarts and even French macaroons – but we realized that we’ve never actually made a pie before. So we decided to make a Lemon Meringue Pie from scratch!

We found the recipe here entitled The Ultimate Lemon Meringue Pie. Anything with the word “ultimate” in it has to be good, right?

Being our first time making a pie, we went through each of the 37 steps verrrry carefully and thoroughly. The estimated time to make the pie was 1 hour and 40 minutes, but for us it took nearly 5 hours. I kid you not.

In the end, our pie turned out to be delicious! The only thing that I would change would be to add less cornstarch because it made our filling lumpier than what it should have been, but that was my fault because instead of adding the recommended 1/4 cup of cornstarch, I added 1/2 cup. Nevertheless, the balance of the sweetness from the meringue and the acidity from the lemons was just right for me. I also found that leaving the pie to completely cool in the fridge allows the crust to form together a little better so no one is left with a crumbly crust.

I’d have to say that lemon meringue is definitely one of my top favourite summer desserts. Would I make this again? Maybe – if I had several hours to spare. But at least now I can say that I have made a pie!

Happy start of the summer!

A

 

Leave a Reply

