Psaume 23

For the past week, I’ve had a song stuck in my head. The tune is “Frère Jacques” but the words are from Psalm 23. During one of many Bible studies two years ago in Dijon, we were asked to write a poem that summarized the ideas of this passage. And I thought it would be good to do a haiku since my French was not yet at the sonnet level. So this is what I wrote:

Son amour est jusqu’au bout (His love overflows)

Je ne manquerai de rien (I shall not want)

Mon Berger, mon Ami (My Shepherd, my Friend)

And for some reason, my group decided to present our poems to the other groups through song. They took a look at what I had written and we came up with the tune “Frère Jacques”! It was quite exciting. We had to adjust it a bit, so the song looked, in fact, like this:

Son amour (x2)

Jusqu’au bout (x2)

Je ne manquerai de rien (x2)

Mon Berger, mon Ami

I had forgotten about this little tune for quite some time until recently when it has suddenly popped into my mind, and now I can’t seem to get it out of my head. But I don’t really mind.

Happy Sunday :)

A

Leave a Reply

