The Fight

 My small group has been finishing up 1 Timothy in our Bible studies and a couple of verses in our last study made me reevaluate how I’ve been living my life.

Here are the verses (6:11,12) we looked at:

But you, O man of God, flee from all this. Pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, steadfastness and gentleness. Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called and about which you made the good confession in the presence of many witnesses.

The line that particularly caught my interest was “Fight the good fight of the faith”. When I read this, I immediately thought of two analogies – the armour of Salvation and running the race. Both examples, I think, have very much to do with fighting for your faith. One is about defence – about protecting yourself from temptation and preparing yourself to become firmly rooted. The other is about endurance – it is about keeping focused on the prize and to continue pushing onwards even when you feel weak. This is what came to my mind. And with that, it became a blunt reminder that I haven’t been fighting very hard at all. In fact, I’ve pretty much allowed myself to be vulnerable without much care of the consequences.

The rest of the verse was like a kick in the pants for me to stop pursuing meaningless things and to start living for eternity. So, I have decided to commit this verse to memory; it’s been a while since I memorized a verse from the Bible. I’ve forgotten how powerful and life-changing it is. And oh how I need my life and heart to change.

Fight the good fight. There’s so much determination and fierceness in those words. May God instill in me the same passion as He did in Paul. I am reminded again how truly beautiful it is to live a godly life. It’s the only way I want to live my life.

May you, dear readers, be encouraged and blessed.

A

Leave a Reply

