Speed Dating at School

Good day to you dear reader! I made my students speed date today but not in the way you might think! You see, this week our theme is on People, so naturally I taught physical descriptions and personality traits to my class. And what better way to wrap it all up than creating a fictional dating profile? Way back in 2008 when I was studying in Chicoutimi, Quebec (and you can still read those posts), my wonderful professor had a hilariously fun activity that the entire class loved. It was speed dating! I remember I enjoyed it so much that I made a mental note to myself that I would use it in my own classroom someday – and lo and behold!

I put together a dating profile that included general information such as the name, age, gender, likes, dislikes, etc. To tie in vocabulary from personality traits, I included a section on describing the personality of the fictitious person. The night before, I flipped through my magazines and cut out 2″ x 2″ pictures of normal to eccentric looking men and women and taped them onto each blank dating profile.

I saw my students grinning ear to ear as I was explaining this activity – they laughed as I handed to each of them a dating profile. It was quite funny as some guys had a girl’s profile and vice versa. Once they filled out all the information, I arranged two rows of seven chairs to face each other and separated “girls” on one side and “guys” on the other side. I allotted 4 minutes for students to impress and charm one other with their fake identities before dinging the bell which signalled for the male candidates to rotate. It worked wonderfully! Everyone was talking up a storm and getting into character – it was quite noisy but this is the kind of noise that teachers definitely don’t mind.

When the speed dating part was over, we returned back into the classroom where I had written the names of the guys and girls on the board and we went around and asked who each person picked as their “perfect match”. As it turned out, there was only one couple that picked each other – everyone else had picked a different person (which is funny and sad at the same time). All in all, I was very glad that my first attempt in facilitating this activity turned out better than I had imagined. One of my colleagues loved this idea so much he asked if he could borrow it – that’s when you know an activity becomes a definite keeper.

Want to try this lesson out for yourself? Click here for the blank dating profile – all you have to do is find the magazine pictures!

Stay tuned for a future post on a photo scavenger hunt for our school’s Easter party!

Love,

A

Leave a Reply

