God is Like Rehab

While on the train this early morning, I was thinking to myself for the umpteenth time this month “I really need to start doing my devotions again.” I keep telling myself this and I’ve meant to pick up my Bible and start journaling and praying, but I just never got around to it. I’ve been either too tired or too busy. And because I haven’t been spending time with Him, I’ve noticed how this lack of God in my life has resulted in my ugly inner self gradually wreaking havoc on my heart and mind. My thoughts are unkind, my actions are selfish, my heart is restless as nothing I do can satisfy it. I was thinking about all this when it suddenly occurred to me that God is very much like rehab. And it certainly does make sense, because that’s what He does. He rehabilitates.

Perhaps I’ve been watching too much Breaking Bad lately, but I can see how I sometimes act like an addict. I keep allowing my sinful nature to take control and no matter how hard I will myself to resist and to get myself back on track, at the end of the day, I feel unsatisfied and drained. Even then, I continue to listen to sin and push God away. Thankfully, God is faithful and promises to never forsake us. He waits for me with open arms, and when I finally come to him, completely used and dirty, He embraces me and begins the healing. On the train this morning, as I prayed to Him for the first time in a long time, He replied with this verse: “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest… For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Matthew 11:28,30

One by one, He shows me the sin in my life that needs to be surrendered. It’s not easy to turn away from these things, in fact it’s quite the slow process for me, but I know that whatever God has to offer will far exceed anything I could ever hope for. How He is willing to wait for me and to cleanse me after all I’ve done to Him and chosen to do – blows my feeble human mind.

He heals and He restores. He sets us right again after we allow ourselves to be ravaged by sin. No judgement, no bitterness. Just love.

Thank you for saving me… again and again.

A

One thought on “God is Like Rehab

Leave a Reply

