Teaching is Tiring

I am in dire need of a nap. I wish I were like some of my teacher friends that can come up with amazing activities and lesson plans in no more than an hour. Unfortunately, I do not work that way. I spend so much time in planning, revising, creating, adjusting, thinking… that it takes five hours minimum for me to plan for one day. So I end up going to bed at midnight and I wake up at 6am (I also wish I was the type of person that can run on only 5 hours of sleep, but nope, I need a good solid 8-9 hours). I honestly don’t know how I’m going to survive when I start working with a school board, but I do know that it only gets easier as I can begin to reuse material and lessons. I just wish that could happen right now! I’m trying to make that happen.

Yet out of the fatigue and exhaustion, I came out victorious and content with today’s lessons. I added more consistency and structure to the week so I’m not constantly keeping my head just above the water. Hopefully it’ll relieve me of some of the stress that comes with planning. I’ve also accepted to take on an elective  so now I’ll be teaching ’til 2:00 pm. I’m not going to think about that now though. For now, I just want to nourish myself with waffles and peanut butter and watch Breaking Bad.

Love,

A

Leave a Reply

