Pecan Pie Bars

Pecan pie has always been a favourite in our family. I can even remember when my sisters and I were little girls, we would cheer every time mum or dad brought a pecan pie home. I guess you can say that it is a nostalgic treat! I learned of this recipe from my roommate about half a year ago when she had randomly found it on this website. Every time she made these, I ended up having one for breakfast nearly every day (I’m almost ashamed to admit that) – they’re just that good!

This is my second time making them – the first time was a success but I found them to be much too sweet. My sister has been insisting that I make them again, so I decided to pull the recipe out once more. This time around, I cut back on the sugar, butter and corn syrup. I have it baking in the oven as I type, so in a couple of minutes, I shall see if cutting back was a wise decision. My my my, it smells amazing.

I think this makes a wonderful Christmas treat to share with family, friends, co-workers, etc. I invite you to try this yourself!

I’m giving you my “tweaked” recipe. Here’s what you’ll need:

Shortbread crust:

– 3 cups all-purpose flour

– 1/2 cup white sugar

– 1/2 teaspoon salt

– 1 cup butter

Pecan pie filling:

– 4 eggs

– 1 3/4 cups light corn syrup

– 1/2 cup white sugar

– 2 tablespoons melted butter

– 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

– 2 1/2 cups chopped pecans

Here’s what you’re going to do:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease a 10×15 inch jellyroll pan.
  2. In a large bowl, stir together the flour, 1/2 cup sugar, and salt. Cut in 1 cup of margarine until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Sprinkle the mixture evenly over the prepared pan, and press in firmly.
  3. Bake for 20 minutes in the preheated oven.
  4. While the crust is baking, prepare the filling. In a large bowl mix together the eggs, corn syrup, 1 1/2 cups sugar, 3 tablespoons margarine, and vanilla until smooth. Stir in the chopped pecans. Spread the filling evenly over the crust as soon as it comes out of the oven.
  5. Bake for 25 minutes in the preheated oven, or until set. Allow to cool completely on a wire rack before slicing into bars.

This recipe makes around 3 dozen. I usually cut them into squares instead of bars because that way you get more and don’t feel as guilty eating one!

Hope you give this a try and I wish you a very happy Christmas baking!

Love,

A

One thought on “Pecan Pie Bars

Leave a Reply

