The Better Plan

Exciting news! I passed my TESL course! I attended the graduation on Friday where I received my certificate, gave a little thank-you speech, ate two pieces of taro coconut cake and made a painted handprint on the school’s wall (as it’s customary for all graduates)! But I think most exciting of all was what happened on Wednesday.

Let me rewind a bit first. A week before I was to finish the course, I began to feel rather melancholy. I began to ask myself, what am I going to do now that the course is over? Am I going to go back to job searching? You must understand that job searching to me is synonymous with discouragement. And rightly so after an entire summer of futile applications to countless schools. I began to question God for the umpteenth time as to where I’m supposed to be and I began to let my worries overshadow the good in my life.

There’s one thing you should know about me. I like to plan and I’m good at it. I’ve planned my future and career path ever since I decided that I wanted to go into education and everything happened the way I had envisioned it more or less. There were no surprises, no complications with courses, credits or practicums – nothing! Everything was going as smooth as butter. Until the summer after I received my degrees.

I had planned to find a job with a school division and to work full-time in a classroom by September, but that didn’t happen. I had planned to take the TESL course in the summer originally, but it was cancelled. Nothing was going according to plan!

I was discouraged and so, I turned to prayer. I poured out my heart and frustrations to God and was reminded that He only has our best interests at heart. I was meant to be doing something else. So I decided to cling to Him and to trust that whatever happens, He will be my Provider and my Rock.

So the puzzle pieces started coming together.

Because I wasn’t working, I decided to become involved in church by teaching Sunday School and becoming a small group leader for the university fellowship. Had I gotten a full-time job at a school, I never would have volunteered at the church, because I would have been biting off more than I could chew. And I think about this now… for five years, I was away from home for university, and because of the distance, I couldn’t involve myself with the church at home which was why I had felt disconnected and unsatisfied. Now suddenly, with me not working at a school as I had planned, I actually have the time to contribute and become a part of my home church for the first time in five years. For the first time in five years, I feel like a part of the church family. This makes sense to me now. Of course! This is more important than working full-time. Of course. I hadn’t seen this several months ago, but now I do.

Going back to last week, I knew the TESL course was coming to an end and I began to grumble about the uncertain when really I was already blessed with manna and quail. But God, being as gracious as He is, never abandons us. I got a phone call from the director of the school where I was taking this course and she asked me to come in for an interview the next day. So Wednesday morning, I sat down for the interview and before it was noon, I was offered a job to teach ESL at the school! How great is our God! He never falters.

He has at last quenched my thirst for fellowship in my home church, He has filled what was empty. And now He has blessed me with a job that I will be starting on the 29th of this month! I am glad my own plans didn’t work out, because I can honestly say with all my heart that this was the better plan.

There are so many things that happen in life that we don’t understand, and what this experience has taught me is that we don’t have to understand everything… because He does.

2 thoughts on “The Better Plan

Leave a Reply

