Productivity is Happiness

Today was a productive day for me. To some of you, it may not seem like I did a whole lot. It might even seem rather banal, but I quite enjoyed today so I am going to share it with you (because I like sharing good things).

I dragged myself out of bed this morning to go write my TESL exam downtown. And thank goodness today was Saturday because had it been a weekday, I would have been late. Lucky for me the usual one hour of traffic took me only 25 minutes! As soon as I got out of the car, I looked for the nearest coffee shop as I was in dire need of caffeine but apparently, nothing is open before 9 AM on a Saturday… it was a sad moment. So I walked into class feeling tired (I wasn’t the only one, my classmate was sleeping in his desk when I arrived) and wanting to just get the exam over with.

I really didn’t prepare a lot for the exam, I spent probably an hour (maybe less?) the night before leafing through my notes. Our instructor was really quite fabulous and created all these game show review sessions so the last week of the course was spent playing Who Wants to Be a Millionaire, Are you Smarter Than, and Jeopardy. Boy oh boy does it help retain information! I’m definitely going to do that with my future classes. The exam wasn’t difficult at all, I think because of all the review we’ve had – but it was rather extensive. My hand was almost locked into a writing position after the 2.5 hours! The last part of the exam included writing a lesson plan for a 50 minute class on prepositions. I crossed out so many things and had arrows and circles going all over the pages, but that’s what you get when you have me write a lesson with pen and paper!

After the exam, our instructor took us out for lunch at a Vietnamese place. Oh how hungry I was. I didn’t even know until I started eating. Best of all, I finally got that coffee I was missing! If you’ve ever had a Vietnamese style iced coffee, you’ll know how good it is! Mmm… We parted ways on our walk back to the school (I’ll see them again next week when we receive our certificates and give our thank-you-and-good-bye speeches), and it was then that I realized I’m going to miss our little evening TESL course! It’s been a good run and I’m so glad I met these people!

The nap that I had planned since I got up this morning didn’t happen thanks to the coffee, so I spent the rest of the afternoon watching Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall in Dark Passage. Good end to a productive morning, I think! Tonight I may either bake Pecan Pie Bars or read a book that I’ve recently purchased (I shall talk about it some other time).

Ahh… I really do enjoy writing about what happens in a day no matter how mundane or trivial it may sound to people. It feels good.

Hope your day was a happy one,

A

PS: I might be jumping the gun here, but I wanted to add that there is a very good chance that I may be teaching ESL and/or French at this language school starting January! My instructor (on behalf of the director) offered me the positions this morning to which I emphatically exclaimed “I’D LOVE TO!” It’s tentative still, because we don’t know how many students will be registering, so we shall see. But keep your fingers crossed for me!

Leave a Reply

