The Classic Banana Bread

The best thing to do when you’ve got three mushy bananas is to make a nice loaf out of it! So that’s what I did today. When I bake, I always like to put on music, and I finally gave in to the Christmas cheer by tuning in to the ’round the clock Christmas song station. It really makes the baking process more enjoyable, especially when it’s frigid and icy outside.

I used the Joy of Baking recipe, but I cut back on the sugar because the last time I tried this, I found it to be too sweet. If you’re like me, you might also want to substitute the white sugar for brown. This time, I toasted the pecans before adding them into the batter, and wow I’ve forgotten how yummy it smells! Here’s what you’ll need to make the classic banana bread:

1 cup (115 grams) walnuts or pecans, toasted and coarsely chopped (optional)

1 3/4 cups (230 grams) all-purpose flour

1/2 cup (150 grams) granulated white sugar

1 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

1/2 cup (113 grams) unsalted butter, melted and cooled

3 ripe large bananas (approximately 1 pound or 454 grams), mashed well (about 1-1/2 cups)

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Begin by preheating your oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C). Mix all your dry ingredients together, mix all your wet ingredients together and then mix both dry and wet together. Easy peasy! Make sure not to mix the batter so much that it becomes smooth because the bread will come out tough and rubbery. Strange but true.

Bake for about 55 – 60 minutes and voilà!  You’ve got yourself a pretty golden brown banana loaf.

This is definitely a foolproof recipe, even for me. At one point though when I was measuring the flour, I lost count and forgot how much I put in. Luckily, it was the only ingredient in the bowl, so I poured it all back into the bag and started over. Not one of my brightest moments. This is why counting aloud is so important. Or baking with a friend.

Stay warm! : )

A

Leave a Reply

