Shoeboxing

Every year since I was in the third grade, my family and I have always packed shoeboxes for Samaritan’s Purse Operation Christmas Child.When I left for university, I continued the tradition with my friends. Sometimes I got a little carried away with my dollar store purchases, but it always worked out as I was able to fill an extra shoebox. This year, instead of liquidating the nearest dollar store, I actually did not need to buy anything as I’ve been saving little gifts and things for about a year and a half. Most of these were given to me and my sisters on different occasions (YAY for re-gifiting to charity)!

It feels great to be able to give all these things away, especially since I don’t need a lot of anything. So what exactly was I able to pack for a 10-14 year old girl? Well, I was able to save little plush animals, empty notebooks and letter paper, stationary (including a pencil case), hair accessories, new eyeshadow, jewellery and hard candy. What I was able to find at home was a pack of gum, toothpaste, a toothbrush, and soap. I’ve always enjoyed packing these shoeboxes. I already love buying gifts for children on any occasion, but knowing that one simple box can make a little girl somewhere happy makes me very happy. I also like getting everything in the box to fit as perfectly as possible (it’s quite the challenge!). And, yes, I do find Tetris extremely fun.

If this happens to strike your fancy, grab a shoebox and start packing! Albeit slightly early, I think it’s a perfect way to welcome Christmas!

Love,

A

Leave a Reply

