“Rape” as Slang?

I’m beginning to notice a growing trend of using the word “rape” flippantly in sentences. For example, “I totally raped that exam!” or “Our school is going to rape them at that game!” or even on YouTube when expressing how much one likes a video, “I raped the replay button 20 times!”

Using “rape” in such casual terms bothers me and I always feel offended when I hear someone say it in this manner. I am not sure why, but I don’t like it. Perhaps it comes off a bit misogynistic. Or perhaps saying “rape” in such a cavalier way takes from the seriousness behind that word. It desensitizes the meaning, and I think that it could lead some to develop a casual attitude towards this very present crime in our society.

Surely there are plenty of other words to express how you feel, why use this one? How would a rape victim feel if they overheard someone say to their friend, “We were totally raped by that other team!”?

The word “rape” to me will always have the power to shock. It is not a word that I will ever take lightly and I don’t think anyone should take it lightly. As a teacher, if I were to hear my 4th grade students say, “I raped that quiz today!” – it would leave me feeling disturbed and speechless.

What do you think? Should some words maintain “the power to shock”?

I might be the only one that feels this way, but this is how I feel.

A

Leave a Reply

