Remedy for Grey Skies

Well it’s been a while since I’ve baked, hasn’t it? And I thought to myself today – why not battle the gloomy weather with a batch of warm Oatmeal Craisin Cookies? I had actually learned of this recipe while living with a friend last year during university as she was an avid baker. She had used white sugar with dark and white chocolate chunks (heeaaavenly), but for these cookies which you see here, I decided to go with brown sugar and craisins! I had intended to make lamingtons, but my family isn’t too fond of chocolate and cake and when I found out that lamingtons are basically cake dipped in chocolate… I decided to save it for some other time.

Of course just like any other cookie, it was very simple to make. And lucky for me, I had JUST enough vanilla extract, flour and oats. Here is the recipe I used:

-1 1/4 cups brown sugar

-1 cup softened butter

-1 teaspoon baking soda

-1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

-1 teaspoon vanilla extract

-1/2 teaspoon salt

-2 eggs

-3 cups quick-cooking or old-fashioned oats

-1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour

-1 cup craisins

So, heat your oven at 350°, mix wet ingredients first, then add the dry. Place the dough about 2 inches apart onto an ungreased cookie sheet and bake for 9 to 11 minutes. And voilà! Serve with a tall glass of cold milk, it makes alllll the difference.

Grey skies? What grey skies?

A

2 thoughts on “Remedy for Grey Skies

Leave a Reply

