The perfect summer cupcake

As promised, I present to you the lemon cupcake with raspberry cream cheese frosting! My friend and I had actually experimented a bit to get this lovely product simply by adding 1 teaspoon of lemon extract and then some lemon zest to an ordinary vanilla cupcake recipe. The result? Perfection! It wasn’t too sweet nor too tangy. Because of a temporary abundance of cream cheese in my refrigerator, we decided to go with a raspberry cream cheese frosting, which may sound a bit odd paired with a lemon cupcake (or does it?) but the two go wonderfully well together – trust me!

The original frosting recipe called for 250 grams of cream cheese, 250 grams of butter and 3 1/2 cups of sugar. Seeing this, we knew right off that bat that we were going to have to cut back as we only had twelve cupcakes. So in the end, we halved all the ingredients – except the cream cheese (because we had forgot) and we feared too much cream cheese would ruin our frosting, but it wasn’t too overpowering at all. And of course, we picked raspberries in the backyard and crushed them into a yummy pulp. We decided to add a bit more raspberry than it called for and it turned out to be a smart choice! While chilling the frosting in the fridge, we made another batch of cupcakes because we realized that we still had too much frosting. The picture you see is our pride and joy. We simply used a makeshift piping bag to layer on the frosting and then thinly sliced lemon wedges to decorate. It seems as if our novice baking skills and knowledge are slowly but surely improving! For the next baking day, I’m thinking of baking some sort of cake to use up the rest of that icing. And then quite possibly I might make a venture on lamingtons!

Enjoy that sunshine!

Love,

A

4 thoughts on “The perfect summer cupcake

  1. I’m sad that I won’t be able to share the adventure of making a lamington with you my dear, but please take loads of pictures for me! Until December, I’m just going to have to look up some more recipes for us to try! But I’m very glad this summer came in good use in terms of our baking skills!

Leave a Reply

